A Man’s Place

Becoming a better person

Greed: What motivates you?

Who doesn’t want to make as much money as they can, drive the nicest cars, live in the biggest homes, or take luxury vacations? I believe that most people would take all of it, me included. Is that greedy? Sure it is.

Every person has something that motivates them, something that drives them to succeed. Without it, people would become complacent and the economy, and people in general, would become stagnant. Wanting more, whether that be a better car or just a nicer job constitutes greed, but greed is not ALWAYS a bad concept. Continue reading

March 24, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Get me in shape!

Part of my reasoning for starting this blog was so I would have people (you) to hold me accountable. Well, I want that accountability to begin now!!

I am the best man in my friend’s wedding on June 7th. Sometime before May 24th, I have to be fitted for my tux. Problem is, I do not want to wear a tux weighing 210 pounds. Continue reading

March 24, 2008 Posted by | fitness | Leave a comment

Gaining your child’s trust

My daughter, Peyton, is now 3 1/2 weeks old. She is your typical infant: doesn’t sleep in her crib, eats all the time, and cries when you don’t hold her. Her mother and I have been lacking much sleep, but we have enjoyed every last moment of the past 3 1/2 weeks.

I believe from the time she was born, I was beginning to build her trust. She may not be able to remember anything from her first year or two as she gets older, but if I do not build her trust now, I do not feel I will have it in the future.
I believe that she already trusts us. Whenever she is lying in her crib, she begins to cry, but as soon as she sees us reaching for her, she stops crying. She knows that we sense what she wants, and will give it to her, no matter what time in the morning it is. Continue reading

March 24, 2008 Posted by | Parenting | Leave a comment